What is the Cause of My CD Burning Issues?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Daniel Plainview, Nov 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daniel Plainview

Daniel Plainview God's Lonely Man Thread Starter

Okay, here's the scenario:

I tried to burn some FLAC Metallica concerts (purchased legally from their website) and I keep getting discs where the first track (or a least the few couple of minutes) is all static and scuffing/skipping sounds.

First thought - CD drive. Well, I also have an external CD drive so I tried burning with that. Nope. The same.

Maybe it's the files? Nope. Tried to burn something else from the computer ("All Things Must Pass" in wav) and it was the same result.

Maybe it's the format? Nope. Converted concert files to mp3 and tried again. Same. (And I shouldn't have to sacrifice quality anyway).

Maybe it's the software? Well, I installed the newest version of CDXP burner (which I've been using for many years with no issue). Nope. Same problem.

I've messed with burning speeds. Removing CD text. Standing on one foot while the CD burned. No luck.

Also worth noting my Dell computer is the bane of my existence and a worthless piece of ****. I was happy with my old Compaq but then I reached the day when I couldn't install the newest windows on it and was forced to buy a new machine. Since then... living heck.

So... any ideas? Should I try an entirely different FREE Cd burning software? Can you recommend one?

Or... what is it that could effect the burning ability of two different drives?

Really ticked off because I spent $50 on Metallica downloads (even splurged for Flac) and now I can't burn the damn things. I just burned a CD last week without any issues. Granted, I did straight-up punch the Dell last Sunday out of frustration, but the external CD drive wouldn't have been effected by this.

Thanks.

2. L.P.

L.P. Forum Resident

Maybe bad CD-Rs? But can they all be bad?

3. Sckott

Sckott Hand Tighten Only.