Was Houses of the Holy a step down in quality after 4?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Morfmusic, Nov 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Morfmusic

Morfmusic Forum Resident Thread Starter

LZ4 is such a mystical, constructed work that imo HOTH feels a bit throwaway in comparison. Ok, you've got the three epics at the start - TSRTS, The Rain Song and OTHAFA..but then you've got The Crunge and Dancing Days which almost feel like the band demystifying their own legend (as enjoyable as they are). No Quarter is another epic which grew legs in live performances..but D'yer Maker and The Ocean feel more glib than grand. Your thoughts please!

2. Yes

catman, Rojo, bonus and 13 others like this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

The good stuff is really good, but it was a major step down from IV in my opinion. Then again, where do you go from "Stairway to Heaven"? They were bulletproof at that point, no need to work so hard.

4. If I Can Dream_23

If I Can Dream_23 Forum Resident

I think it actually builds on the first four efforts. Zeppelin was always advancing and exploring, and never content to just repeat the aura of the previous record.

I think it is arguably their greatest. The problem, as you said, is that I also agree the likes of IV is their greatest too. Or II. Or III. Or In Through The Out Door. :D

There are just no "lowlights" with this band. At least not for me.

5. trickness

trickness Gotta painful yellow headache

Nah....No Quarter? The Rain Song? Over The Hills? TSRTS? If anything it was a step up.

Ok Dyer Maker & The Crunge are filler. But The Battle of Evermore is hokey lords of the ring crap too.

6. Yes and No

Yes:
    Cuz its not quite as good as untitled

N0;
    Cuz it's bloody Houses of the Holy! FTW

7. lennonfan1

lennonfan1 Senior Member