Sound Quality of Music Club CD's vs. Non Music club CD's

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by CD Heaven West, Jul 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr. Wizard

Mr. Wizard New Member

Back in the mid 90's I had a subscription with BMG. I stopped after the first batch because the artwork was different. I didn't like their "custom" bar codes. From then on it was the record store for me, and now since record stores are vanishing, I stick to amazon.

2. Mr. Wizard

Mr. Wizard New Member

What he said.

3. ShawnX

ShawnX Forum Resident

I agree! Never like those record club copies and avoid them whenever possible. In a few rare cases I will take a one if...1) I cannot find the title, or 2) If there is a big price difference. Otherwise, I don't like'em. They just look "cheap" to me.

4. seed_drill

seed_drill Senior Member

I wouldn't have 1/3 the cds I now have if it weren't for record clubs. It made them cheap enough to buy in volume when I was a student, and to take chances or go after an album for one or two songs even when I wasn't budgetarily constrained.

5. bdiament

bdiament Producer, Engineer, Soundkeeper

Hi CD Heaven West,

I have sent copies of the same exact CD master to plants for label production as well as to record clubs (for the labels).

Assuming the record club CD used the same master as the label production CD, what remains is the manufacturing stage. This is includes the LBR (laser beam recorder used to create the glass master), speed of glass master cut, plating and duration of injection molding cycle, among other things.