Best recordings of Grateful Dead "Wall of Sound"?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by rogertheshrubber, Mar 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rogertheshrubber

rogertheshrubber Senior Member Thread Starter

Can any forum Deadheads direct me to some best sounding recordings made of the "Wall of Sound" set up used by the Grateful Dead during 1973-1974?

http://www.stevehoffman.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=145294&highlight=grateful+wall+sound

I already have the Cow Palace (Dick's Picks 23) and the Road Trips Vol 2, No. 3 sets.

I would think, however, that there are some cool audience recordings of this available on the Live Music Archive website as well.

Thanks!

2. curbach

curbach Some guy on the internet

I think the Grateful Dead Movie Soundtrack is from that era, but I'm no expert Deadhead.

3. davmar77

davmar77 I'd rather be drummin'...

you are correct, sir. those were the last shows that used it. i saw/heard that system indoors in boston in june of 74 and twice outdoors in hartford and jersey city in july and august that same year.

bzfgt likes this.
  4. Quincy

Quincy Senior Member

DICK'S PICK 12!

Actually as it's a Dick's Pick and not a multi-track I don't know if it trumps audio fidelity, but from a music standpoint it's a must.

DP 31 is another must have, and though lesser loved by many DP 7 does have a Dark Star>Dew.

Yes I know, I've suggested about everything in print from that year. Though I did skip Steal Your Face! ;)

Of those not released Selland Arena (7/19/74) can be had with no cassette generation. There's more - one place to look over what circulates with lineage info is db.etree.org and sort on the Dead for 1974.