Flat Transfers Question

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by dkmonroe, May 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot Thread Starter

Why do some "flat transfers" apparently vary in quality? It would seem that if you have a good-sounding 2-channel master tape, that was used to produce great sounding LP's back in the day, a flat transfer of that tape to digital would make a great sounding CD. And yet it seems that some flat transfer CD's are well-regarded, and others are not.

What is it about some 2-channel mixdown master tapes that make them an insufficient source for good CDs' without additional EQing?

2. steeler1979

steeler1979 Darren from Nashville

I've asked this question myself many times. For better or for worse, most times, I will take the flat transfer instead of a futzed with version. Recently I picked up a Marvin Gaye Tamla cd that said it was a direct transfer. It left a lot to be desired to these ears. Another Motown cd I have of Lionel Richie's s/t cd I really love how it sounds! I guess it just depends on the initial engineering, etc. and that's why people like Barry and Steve have a job. I'm looking forward to the professional responses on here! Great thread! :thumbsup:

3. The tape may have been in poor condition. Maybe they used less than perfect equipment to do the transfer. Maybe the mastertape just has issues that were never fixed during mixing. There's a lot of possible reasons why a flat transfer CD might not sound that good.

If a flat transfer was really the easiest way to get a great sounding CD, there wouldn't be any mastering engineers. Everybody can roll the tapes and split a resulting wav-file into seperate tracks.

4. I Am The Lolrus

I Am The Lolrus New Member

Because some sound good as-is (flat) and some sound bad as-is (flat).