Did Otis Redding sell "Satisfaction" to The Rolling Stones?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Mistermono, Aug 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mistermono

Mistermono Forum Resident Thread Starter

This is excerpted from an article that appeared in the May 3, 1969 edition of The Globe & Mail under the title "Is moss growing on the Stones?" It was written by Ritchie Yorke.

[​IMG]

This is the first time I have heard this claim (and I'm by no means a Stones expert). Has this surfaced elsewhere over the years and been debunked?

2. Jim B.

Jim B. Senior Member

I can't see the article but I've read many books and articles and never once have I heard this.

Besides, it doesn't sound like an Otis song, either musically or lyrically.

3. Pseudonym

Pseudonym Senior Member

This has been debunked pretty thoroughly. Bill Wyman's Stone Alone maps out the timetable which would have made it impossible for Redding to even have heard the song; the Stones recorded the song six months before they'd ever been to Memphis. There's also a quote from Steve Cropper refuting it.

4. JohnnyH

JohnnyH Senior Member

Another vote for pure bunkum - didn't Otis also claim to have written 'Day Tripper'?

5. houston

houston Forum Resident

Otis did, indeed, sell "satisfaction" to the Stones....but it wasn't a song, it was a small group of Memphis hookers ;)

6. Ski Bum

Ski Bum Happy Audiophile

In his autobiography "Life", Keith says he found the core of the song one morning on the tape of the previous night's songwriting session.

7. Mistermono

Mistermono Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hey thanks guys for confirmation that this is a myth/falsehood.

8. seed_drill

seed_drill Senior Member

I do recall Kieth saying Otis CLAIMED to have written it, at some point. But, as indicated above, pure buncombe. (Which shoud be spelled thusly, as it comes from a politician famous for his BS, who came from Buncombe Co., NC)

9. mretrain

mretrain Forum Resident