Conflicted about Zep?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by michael landes, Apr 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JETman

JETman Forum Resident

This, in itself, changed the industry positively for the artists. However, being a former wrestler, his approach was more than a little heavy-handed. He might as well have been the mafioso seen in the dream sequence in TSRTS.

2. Bill Hart

Bill Hart Forum Resident

I think the live venue/touring business probably wasn't quite as 'corporatized' back in those days- and if Peter Grant was a bit of a thug, he was probably dealing with some of the same on the other side of the table. As to songwriter credits, if you read the bio/interview with Page that was recently published (the title is something like 'Light and Shade'), he does discuss his view about 'borrowing' in the tradition of blues artists from the past. I'm a copyright lawyer, so i understand the line here, and am not defending Page, just trying to help fill in a few blanks. (That interview book was a fascinating read , it spent less time on LZ 'mythology' and more on Page's career before he formed the band, as well as his take on miking and production in the making of the LZ albums).

3. bluefish18

bluefish18 Well-Known Member

Couldn't agree more. I've always thought Plant was completely overrated. On the Plus side, Bonhams drumming is phenomenal, and Page created some historical riffs. But Plants voice is like finger nails on a blackboard, and his attitude, both on and off stage, is nauseating.....

Carserguev likes this.
  4. Holy Diver

Holy Diver Senior Member

I think Plant's vocals give Zeppelin a certain charm, maybe not always, but mostly. His voice makes the music sound "occultish," which works great for the songs.

5. Raunchnroll

Raunchnroll Senior Member