I've gone from buying $50 LPs to 50¢ LPs

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by RJ3000, Nov 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RJ3000

RJ3000 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I first got back into vinyl two years ago, stumbling into this forum with the intent to build up a vinyl collection. Some of my first titles purchased were indeed $50 records: our host's wonderful 45rpm mastering of A Charlie Brown Christmas, Classic Records 200g pressing of Zappa's Hot Rats, the MFSL pressing of Beck's Sea Change.

Soon through the addictive Classifieds area and Ebay I was able to pick up some great LPs at 1/10 that price.

Well today, I finally went into the Salvation Army store near my in-laws' that I've been driving past for over 10 years. Holy ****! A treasure trove of vinyl for 49¢ a piece! In my first pass today picked up some beauties: Mono Sinatra September of My Years, Pickwick/33 pressing of Sergio Mendes Trio's So Nice, Chicago IX, WHAM Make it Big and more. I haven't even run them through my VPI 16.5 yet and they sound great. Granted I had to pick through a bunch of Jim Nabors, Andy Williams and Whipped Cream & Other Delights to find these!

I know I won't be finding recent audiophile pressings at this place, but I'm thrilled to be able to flesh out my collection at a bargain price. And tomorrow everything in the store is 50% off -- LPs for a quarter!

2. Ghostworld

Ghostworld Senior Member

Now you are learning, my young padawan. Seek the bargain, not the pricey.

However your Charlie Brown Xmas and Classic Records are still good buys!

RJ3000 likes this.
  3. Daniel Plainview

Daniel Plainview God's Lonely Man

4. Flashlight

Flashlight Forum Resident

And the competition grows yet again... :(

:)

MarkO, Naughty Chord and moople72 like this.
  5. ssmith3046

ssmith3046 Forum Resident

That's Great! I'll still spend fifty bucks though on a record depending on the release. it's not necessary but sometimes it's worth it.

6. Agent57