A Trick of the Tail Vinyl

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Zach Johnson, Aug 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zach Johnson

Zach Johnson Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hey, I'm new to record collecting and I recently purchased a Canadian Atco pressing (SD 36-129) of A Trick of the Tail by Genesis and boy does it sound awful. The mixes sound like demos in comparison to the Remastered CD I'm used to listening to. The last track especially, Los Endos, sounds almost like a different song. I've heard that the Japanese and German pressings of Wind and Wuthering (which is also somewhat mediocre on the Canadian pressing) sound much better. Is this the case as well with A Trick of the Tail? How does the UK version sound? Thanks.

2. PhilBiker

PhilBiker sh.tv member number 666

My brother has the MFSL vinyl of "Trick" and I think it sounds great. Don't know about your pressing, but Genesis records often sound a bit flat on vinyl since they're so long.

3. KOWHeigel

KOWHeigel Forum Resident

I also have the MFSL version of this album on vinyl and I think it sounds incredible. I have not heard any other pressings but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it if you can find it for a reasonable price on the used market.

4. yesstiles

yesstiles Senior Member

I fell in love with the band based on my introduction:

-a used US Atco yellow label vinyl of ATOTT.

I do have that MFSL vinyl now as well, but have yet to listen to it. Better get cracking!

AidanB likes this.
  5. MikeyH

MikeyH Stamper King

You want to get some original UK copies, they're fine. TOTT is the first original Charisma label only pressed by Phonogram, there's no EMI pressing at all.

6. peter

peter Senior Member

UK for me on this.

7. bRETT

bRETT Senior Member

The original Atco was no great shakes.

8. spaulding

spaulding Hoi Polloi

Had original ATCO and dropped it for the MFSL which, if clean, is outstanding.