T. Rex - Electric Warrior - Kevin Gray AAA Vinyl Reissue

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by GentleSenator, Oct 26, 2017.

1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Just got my copy today at a local B&N. $16 with a coupon and my membership discount. The LP is perfect, not only free of pops, clicks and crackle but also perfectly flat. The last couple of Rhino LP's I've bought have been very well pressed, I hope it's a trend.

As everybody else is saying, this LP sounds great! Even the last two songs (which I've never liked) are a gas now. If this is what AAA does, then bring it on. This is a near-perfect reissue and I'm surprised the list price is so relatively inexpensive.

Only one niggling issue - I kinda wish they didn't go so glossy on the cover as every touch leaves fingerprints! No, I'm not gonna use gloves. :laugh:

Is the gatefold design faithful to the original? My long-gone vintage copy wasn't a gatefold.

2. The original was a gatefold in the US. I still have one.

dkmonroe likes this.
  3. dkmonroe

Did it have that portrait of Marc with that cropping? I only ask because I'm sure I've seen that picture in the CD packaging and it was like a mini-poster and quite different.

4. jamesmaya

jamesmaya Senior Member

Fun Fact No’s. 6383 & 6466

Sometime after Electric Warrior was released, there was an album jacket misspressing on a certain number of copies of Neil Young’s After The Gold Rush such that instead of the gatefold pic of a reclining Neil (Fillmore East dressing room?)....
    [​IMG]

you got a reclining Marc Bolan...
    [​IMG]

5. dkmonroe

Now THAT'S funny! :laugh:

"Hello, ladies - you didn't expect to meet me here, did you?"

jamesmaya likes this.
  6. Quasimodo

Quasimodo Senior Member