A question for Ted Jensen and Steve Hoffman

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by robby, Nov 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robby

robby Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hello. Ever since I'm 13 years old, I've been wanting to "fix" the sound of the cd's i've bought. Some of them sounded bad to me. It's been 13 years since that, and I've been a huge follower of the best sound in the stuff I listen. I studied communications in college, and I've been praised by my friends and colleagues for getting sounds in the music that they have never heard before. I want to pursue professionally the sound mastering field. Specially the remastering of old material. I want to know what steps I have to make, so I can start in this field. It would mean the life to me if both of you and other mastering engineers would answer me this. Thanks for reading :)

2. LowRideDuh

LowRideDuh Member

Robby . . . I Wish You the Best in Your Endeavor (bump)

3. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

I once asked that question of several people, including member Ron Frrmanek. His main answer, and the same one all of them stated is that you have to be at the right place at the right time. It's also best to live on one of the coasts, because that's where the record industry is, New York, or Los Angles, or thereabouts. Off the record, they said that knowing someone is always a plus!

I don'r see myself and my wife moving to LA or NYC anytime soon...so...too expensive!

4. Doug Sclar

Doug Sclar Forum Legend