After having owned the Sennheiser HD600's and the HD650, should I get the HD58x?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Phono Groove, May 12, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phono Groove

Phono Groove Forum Resident Thread Starter

I owned the HD600's and HD650's for quite some time in the past , I have some experience with these two headphones and spent quite a bit of time with them. I sold them years ago but I remember liking the HD600's much better. I did find the HD650's a bit boring , the HD600's had just a little bit more treble refinement which I liked but were just a tad bit more bass shy. Although my ears are sensitive to treble I like a neutral headphone that doesn't draw attention to itself. I'm looking into the HD58x and from what I am reading it looks like this headphone might be a mix between the HD600's and the HD650's , anyone have any experience with the HD58x? How would it compare to the HD600? It looks to be a steal for $170 on the massdrop website!

2. noway

noway Forum Resident

Haven't heard the Massdrop HD58X but nevertheless I would stick with the HD600s. Try L&M.

3. ti-triodes

ti-triodes Senior Member

Just a tip. Drop has a refurb section where these are even cheaper.

4. shug4476

shug4476 Nullius In Verba

Agree with the above - the HD600 remain the best in the lineup in my view.

5. Ham Sandwich

Ham Sandwich Senior Member

The advantage for the HD58x Jubilee is that they are easier to drive. They're 150 ohms instead of the 300 ohms for the HD600 and HD650.

The HD600 and HD650 need a good amp. If they aren't amped will and suitably they will sound boring. Good amps cost more than the headphones.

The HD58x Jubilee isn't so fussy about amps. It will work well with amps that are not suitable for the HD600 or HD650. You can even plug the HD58x into a laptop and get enough reasonably good sound to use for YouTube listening.