Ahhhh!!! Where Are Blank CD-Rs Manufactured?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Brian Cruz, Aug 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian Cruz

Brian Cruz Forum Resident Thread Starter

Ahhhh!!!

I know there are a gazillion threads on this subject, but how can I tell if a BLANK CD-R is made in Japan? AND/OR what's a good BRAND and TYPE can I pick up at a JOE-DRUGSTORE or JOE-TARGET store? Maybe a NASHVILLE CAT can point me in right direction here in NASHVEGAS?

I've seen the names Taiyo Yuden and Matsui (sp?) thrown around a lot. Do they make consumer prdcts?

2. ratskrad

ratskrad Senior Member

I have been using the Maxell Music CD-R's for six months now. They are the Taiyo Yuden and are made in Japen. I get them from Wal-Mart for $13 for 30 discs. There are programs out there that can read a disc and tell you what it is. Nero Burning Rom has the ability to read disc info and that is what I use to burn cd-r's with.

3. mudbone

mudbone Gort Annaologist

Ahhhhhhh! is not a good thread heading for the search engine.
    Ahhhh!!! Where Are Blank CD-Rs Manufactured? is a good heading.

Changed.

mud-

4. Brian Cruz

That's a good one. Though, it's not as attention-grabbing, is it? I will try to behave myself on my next thread.

5. mudbone

mudbone Gort Annaologist

You're right, it's not as exciting but people at least will know what to expect when they open your thread!

mud-:D

6. Damián

Damián Forum Hall Of Fame

7. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

Most reputable companies will tell you where the product was made. Those Wal-Mart or Comp USA specials usually won't. That should be your first warning!

8. Beatle Terr

Beatle Terr Super Senior SH Forum Member Musician & Guitarist

Which ones do you like then Grant, could you give us the brand names you would stick with and their point of origin.

9. Craig

Craig (unspecified) Staff

Re: Ahhhh!!!