Aligning Cartage with Overhang gague, Getting High end distortion

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by mattdeezly, Jan 31, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattdeezly

mattdeezly Member Thread Starter

First off:
    Turntable: Technics SL-23
    Cartage: Pickering XSV 3000

I started vinyl a few years ago with a humble Audio Technica LP-60, which is quickly outgrew. So I upgraded to what I have now, A Technics SL-23. I had to get it repaired so I never bothered with Aligning or tracking force, I just left it how the AV shop guy did... But I wanted to learn, so I went to re-setting the table. So Suffice it to say I'm a bit of a newbie so please bear with me.

Tracking force was easy, but I'm stuck on Aligning it... I tried the Stevenson protractor, but I was struggling... so I bought an original Technics 52mm Overhang gauge (which after research on the forum I found I was good to use it). I got my needle lined up pretty good I think?
    [​IMG]

But im now getting A LOT of distortion on the higher end, and S's....

I never had this issue before....

I then realized the cartage is not really centered (if that makes a difference) and no matter how hard I tried it just would not. The... clamps? "plastic bits", whatever they're called, that mount the cartage to the shell keep moving and going crooked when I tighten the screws. Is this normal?[​IMG]

So at this point I really dont know what to do...What do you guys think my best course of action is?

Thanks so much in advanced

Heckto35 likes this.
  2. JohnO

JohnO Senior Member

It's ok if the little plastic mounting bits get twisted, it is the cartridge you want centered and level to the shell. You normally don't see the mounting bits.

I see your stylus tip is a little beyond the edge of the gauge. Normally, it should be exactly even with the end of the gauge. But.....