Amp for Dynaudio Special 40s or Speakers for Prima Luna EVO integrated

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by normychas, Jun 4, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. normychas

normychas Active Member Thread Starter

All,

I have a 12x12 listening room that is connected to my kitchen so technically the room is longer that 12x12 because of the open space but I have sonos speakers in the kitchen and other parts of the house.

I am just getting into HiFi and demoed a pair of DynAudio Special 40s and they just blew me away. I listened to a number of floor standing focal speakers that my hifi shop pushed fairly hard but i just really loved the dynaudios.

As I dig deeper into this rabbit hole i am looking at a lot of tube amps and am particularly interested in the prima luna evo 300 or 400.

I have spoken with the folks at upscale audio who of course advocate for PL (Kevin is a great salesmen). However, they cautioned me against pairing the PL with DynAudio and suggested the Tannoys that they sell. There is no way for me to listen to the Tannoys so i would prefer to go with something that i can actually listen to.

Most of my music listening is singer songwriters (John Mayer, Alexi Murdoch) but i listen to rap and a bit of everything just like everyone.

Option 1: Pair the DynAudios with the EVO 300 or 400 in my small ish room
    Option 2: Pair the DynAudios with a SS amp like the Parasound A21+ or a hybrid like the Vincent Audio SV 700.
    Option 3: Take a shot and purchase the Tannoys 8TF and the PL EVO 300 for the full upscale audio experience

2. Dingly Del Boy

Dingly Del Boy Forum Resident

Option 4: Dynaudio with a Hegel H190. Dynaudio and Hegel are a match made in heaven.

3. normychas

Will definitely audition

4. Art K

Art K Retired but not tired!

Rogue Cronus Magnum 3 with the Dyns or a Raven Audio setup, amp and speakers. So many possibilities!

trd and GoldprintAudio like this.
  5. Glmoneydawg

Glmoneydawg Forum Resident