Around The World In 80 Days (1956) won best pic Oscar. Still unrestored, now truly a lost film!

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Steve Hoffman, Jan 9, 2013.

1. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host Thread Starter

Around the world one.jpg Jeff Joseph of SabuCat Productions and I were trying to get the complete 70mm 30 frame version of this on DVD since 1988. We found what was to be found at Todd-AO and at Warner Bros. Still, it's considered a "lost" film simply because of the wacky way it was filmed (two different speeds and two different performances) and preserved. A bit of history for those of you who care is below. A major movie studio wants to screen the "real" version of the movie in house and can't. Why? Doesn't exist. If you find this interesting, read on. They contacted Jeff and he wrote them:

Oh, boy! Starting off the year with the horror that is the status of "Around the World in 80 Days", a film Steve Hoffman and I started playing around with in the late 1980s...and a film that is still not remotely properly preserved or viewable.

Brief note first: SabuCat's archives had virtually no feature films (other than 3D); thus no features wound up at UCLA or the Academy. Since most features were copyrighted, it was usually not very useful for us to keep them. However, over the 20 years we were in business, we had at least 100,000 features go through our hands. So requests like this one wind up meaning:

Checking to see who got what (the records are not complete); calling/emailing the archive or collector who got it (and hope they're still around...film collectors are aging out, I'm afraid.) Then: hope they still have it, it's still runnable...and that they'll loan it out, usually for free. "80 Days", however, is an exception; I know exactly where the print wound up. And it may be borrowable.