Beach Boys "Friends" LP: Capitol Starline label?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by action pact, May 14, 2012.

1. action pact

action pact Forum Resident

Yesterday at a flea market I bought what looks like an early pressing of the Beach Boys' "Friends" LP. I was surprised to find that it has the late '60s red and white "Starline" label instead of the black-with-color-band "regular" label.

I thought that the Starline label was reserved for budget greatest hits LPs, ie: "Best of the Beach Boys Volume 2." Is my "Friends" LP an oddity or was it officially released as part of the Starline series? (I'm guessing the wrong labels were fed into the machine at the factory.)
  2. Tommyboy

Tommyboy Forum Resident

I'm not an expert on Beach Boys pressings, but it sounds like this is an oddity. I do know that Capitol made a mistake with the Beatles We Can Work It Out/Day Tripper 45 and pressed a bunch of them with that red and white Starline label. Those records go for big bucks.
  3. action pact

Thanks, Tommyboy. If it is in fact a mistake, I won't assume that it's valuable, but it is kind of a neat oddity.
  4. empirelvr

empirelvr Well-Known Member

Friends was originally released on the rainbow label.

Capitol did some strange things with Beach Boys and select back catalog LP's back in the very late 1960's. While I hadn't heard of "Friends" with the red and white "Starline" label, a copy of 20/20 I once owned had the "Starline" label.

It may have been a transitional pressing, around the time Capitol changed to the lime green colored label with the stylized "C" logo. Since Beach Boys records at that time were such poor sellers and the label and group were at each other's throats in lawsuits over supposed royalty mishandling, it's possible they used up any old label stock to save money on a poor selling LP. Or, conversely, the last few Capitol BB LP's really were "demoted" to Starline status despite not changing the catalog prefix or number.