Beach Boys "Friends" LP: Capitol Starline label?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by action pact, May 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. action pact

action pact Music Omnivore Thread Starter

Yesterday at a flea market I bought what looks like an early pressing of the Beach Boys' "Friends" LP. I was surprised to find that it has the late '60s red and white "Starline" label instead of the black-with-color-band "regular" label.

I thought that the Starline label was reserved for budget greatest hits LPs, ie: "Best of the Beach Boys Volume 2." Is my "Friends" LP an oddity or was it officially released as part of the Starline series? (I'm guessing the wrong labels were fed into the machine at the factory.)

bgas likes this.
  2. Tommyboy

Tommyboy Senior Member

I'm not an expert on Beach Boys pressings, but it sounds like this is an oddity. I do know that Capitol made a mistake with the Beatles We Can Work It Out/Day Tripper 45 and pressed a bunch of them with that red and white Starline label. Those records go for big bucks.

3. action pact

Thanks, Tommyboy. If it is in fact a mistake, I won't assume that it's valuable, but it is kind of a neat oddity.

4. empirelvr

empirelvr "That's *just* the way it IS!" - Paul Anka

Friends was originally released on the rainbow label.

Capitol did some strange things with Beach Boys and select back catalog LP's back in the very late 1960's. While I hadn't heard of "Friends" with the red and white "Starline" label, a copy of 20/20 I once owned had the "Starline" label.