BEACH BOYS "Pet Sounds" stereo vs. mono and warm vs. clear

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by kamedin, Feb 22, 2011.

1. kamedin

kamedin Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hi! I'm new =) .

My name is Laureano López -which I usually shorten to LL-; I live in Córdoba, Argentina; I'm a composer and singer.

I have a question going around my head since yesterday, which would be addressed to Steve but I think others would have a perspective too.

Among the music I cherish the most there is Pet Sounds. I find it breathtakingly beautiful. I spent last Sunday comparing the recordings I have: Linett's 2006(?) stereo, Linett's 2006 5.1, Steve's 1993 (AF 2009 really). In the meantime, I've read most of the discussions on the topic here.

It's not clear to me if Linett's 2006 stereo version is based on his new 24/96 transfers or just a re-release of the 1996 mix, but I find those two terribly similar and different to the 5.1 mix which, to my ears, sounds way better. Reverb in the stereo mix is so awfully obtrusive it makes some textures airy to the point of becoming unrecognizable (especially in I just wasn't made for these times). Besides, elements are *too* spaced in the stereo field and in some places even the mix itself is ridiculous. For example, the beginning of God only knows: in the stereo mix, the organ is so in front and edgy that I can't even tell the exact point where the melody comes in, which wasn't the case in the original mix; it's way less prominent and ear-hurting in the 5.1. I also think the 5.1 has less reverb, and there's an apparent criterion of leaving the voices centered and in front, more in line with the original concept.