Beatles 1988 CD box questions

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by 77jordan, Aug 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 77jordan

77jordan Member Thread Starter

Hello,

This is my first post!

I noticed there's a lot of Beatles fanatics here, and I didn't see an answer as I searched the forums.

I have some questions about the 1988 rolltop box. I just picked one up.

Are there slight variances between the boxes?

My first question is about that little ribbon in the picture below. Did they all originally come with that? Also did they all orginally come with the Sgt. Pepper slipcase/cutouts? Mine appear to be missing if so.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Beatles-Multiselection-Box-Set/dp/B000002UU7

My box set is more like the one pictured below (no slipcase, no ribbon).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Beatles_Boxed_Set#mediaviewer/File:The_Beatles_Box_Set.jpg

Thanks!

2. stereoptic

stereoptic Anaglyphic GORT Staff

I'm no expert, but I don't think that the original 1988 CD release of Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band CD came in a slipcase. That slipcase issue was years later.(but before the 2009 remasters)

3. Larry Geller

Larry Geller Surround sound lunatic

The UK Pepper CD had a slipcase and larger book, & the box has a slightly larger space to fit it. The US used the UK box, but included US, non-slipcase copy of Pepper, and the separate jewel box version of the White Album, even though the box has the space for the fat box UK White. None of the ones I have seen or owned have had a ribbon. The 1st pictures show the UK box, the second one shows the US box. Note the difference on those 2 albums in the photos.

Last edited: Aug 20, 2014
    Paul H and stereoptic like this.
  4. stereoptic

stereoptic Anaglyphic GORT Staff

Thanks for the clarification.

5. Spacement Monitor

Spacement Monitor Forum Resident