Best back-up solution for digital files?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Koabac, Apr 23, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Koabac

Koabac Self-Titled Thread Starter

Hi - I've read a few threads dealing with this, but they didn't quite address my issue. Long story, but basically, I've HAD to go all digital and I have about 80 thousand digital files - ALL of them are on my MacBook Pro. Obviously that takes up a lot of space, but I don't really care. I like carrying my entire music collection with me wherever I go. I'm a writer/musican and my laptop is my mobile office and I never know when I'll want or need to hear what. I had a one terabyte Time Machine that used to back up my entire laptop regularly automatically, but it seems to be broken and keeps telling me that back-ups are failing. I have one terabyte of cloud storage space, but it seems to only automatically back-up certain information, NOT including my iTunes library - and I can't seem to find how to ask it to also please back up my iTunes library in the cloud.

I know I can go go out and buy a new 1-2 terabyte hard drive to back up everything, but does anyone have another suggestion for backing up digital music? Finances IS an issue and I DO plan on buying a replacement Time Machine because, as a writer, I need to make sure I'm always backing up everything I write automatically, but all my documents, at least, ARE being backed up into my cloud - just not my iTunes digital music collection. I'm really not much of a tech head and am not really sure what all my options are, so layman speak would be appreciated - as well as, please, not too many snarky, "digital music sucks and you deserve to lose everything" comments (which I've heard enough, and also, fully appreciate).