Brian Eno 1973-1986: Definitive CD Comparisons & Advice Thread

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by BlueSpeedway, Mar 21, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BlueSpeedway

BlueSpeedway Curated Iconic Half-Speed Picture Disc Thread Starter

Several of us have been posting info on this, arguably the most important section of Eno's output, over the last few years, but the info is all quite scattered over several threads. So here's a place to hopefully gather it all into one place. I'm going to re-post some of my old notes and some new ones as I think of them, so bookmark it and check back if you're interested. Arguments and corrections more than welcome, especially regarding non-European CDs, which I have little experience of :)

MadCowTX, JRM, Vorlon and 4 others like this.
  2. BlueSpeedway

Here's a few general notes to start with, on lesser known aspects of the catalogue, re-posted /re-edited from last year:

1: With the EG CDs, the late 80s/early 90s Made in UK editions mastered by Nimbus I've heard have a slightly different, brighter sound if you compare them to later Made in Holland pressings of the same masters.

2: Unless you want the few rarities, avoid the Vocal and Instrumental remaster box sets. If you closely compare them, the mastering is inferior to the later 2004 remasters. The box sets don't sound bad, but it's not worth paying big bucks for them for sound quality. Also, the vocal set includes a wrong, inferior mix of the 7" rarity Seven Deadly Finns. The guitar channel is lowered for some reason and almost inaudible , making the song sound empty and incomplete: the original 45 mix is driven by a loud driving electric guitar which is gone here.

3: 1981's Fourth World Possible Musics and 1985's Hybrid have never been reissued/remastered for some reason (as far as I know), so if you see the 1989-90 CDs get them. They both sound great.