Byrds in Mono!.... Which Is Best "Sundazed" Vinyl or "MFSL" SACD

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by hodgo, Apr 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hodgo

hodgo Tea Making Gort (Yorkshire Branch) Staff Thread Starter

Hi All

I'm wanting buy the Byrds first 5 albums in mono, I'm aware at the moment that I'll have to buy the middle 3 on "Sundazed" Vinyl, but for "Mr Tambourine Man" & "Notorious" there's the choice of "Sundazed" Vinyl or the "MFSL" SACD.

My questions are ...

1. Would I be best with the SACD's or Vinyl.

2. What is the quality of Sundazed vinyl like these days I keep hearing conflicting reports.

2. Jim B.

Jim B. Senior Member

I got a few of the Stax reissues and the quality is brilliant, very well pressed.

I'm no expert on comparing various pressings but they all sound pretty good to me.

3. GroovinGarrett

GroovinGarrett Mrs. Stately's Garden

Stax reissues? :confused:

4. action pact

action pact Music Omnivore

I think Jim is commenting on the quality of Sundazed's vinyl, using their Stax reissues as a reference point.

5. Jim B.

Jim B. Senior Member

The Sundazed Stax reissues, Otis, MG's.

6. electric man

electric man Member

I have the byrds Sundazed mono pressings and they sound good with no quality issues. I have no idea if there are better sources like the SACD.

7. pool_of_tears

pool_of_tears Searching For Simplicity

2 different formats. However, you can't go wrong with either :)

8. Jay F

Jay F New Member

I am more sensitive to surface noise than a lot of people, and I have observed little or none of it on any Sundazed Byrds LP I've owned, either mono or stereo. I bought them a long time ago, though, and the ones you can buy now may be different pressings.

I've had good and bad pressings of Sundazed's Dylan LPs. I don't like the recording quality of the Mono Dylans, and I don't listen to them for that reason.

I have had two copies of The Songs of Leonard Cohen, and both were just nasty sounding.