Cables, cables, cables...any tips? In the market (maybe)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by rob303, Oct 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rob303

rob303 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hey folks!

I've been reading a lot on here and elsewhere about ICs and speaker cables (SCs). Tons of review threads and a lot of debates. I've been tweaking my system for some time and, although my cabling is not bulk spool hardware store variety, it would definitely be considered entry level. So to many, it is probably considered my "weak link". I will say I am very skeptical of many products marketed to audiophiles and the HiFi cable industry is no exception. Yet I will also add I have no experience with cabling beyond my Blue Jeans LC-1 ICs and Blue Jeans SCs. Therefore, I have started my home-trials in order to see what I can find.

So I am looking for both IC and SC suggestions as well as testing tips. I really want to stay neutral on sound. I want the recording to come through as it was intended. I don't want any "coloring". I am willing to trial either through my local dealers or even through some of the "60-day guarantee" guys. I figured that focusing on ICs first would be the smart approach. Once I sort out the ICs, then move to SC testing.

Currently I am testing the Kimber TAK Cu phono cable borrowed from a friend. My initial feedback is that it transmits a common EMF noise I get from a light in my room, but at a much lower volume than my LC-1s (yes, I turned the light "off" but it is worth noting.)

Thanks!

2. octaneTom

octaneTom Man of Leisure

3. Lonson

Lonson I'm in the kitchen with the Tombstone Blues

I've tried a handful of different ICs and have found VooDoo Cable to work best for me. When using tapes I made myself of bands I was in in my then garage apartment these seem to be neutral but have a breath of life as well, dynamic and tonally nice.

http://www.voodoocable.net