Can you toy with a badly mastered album in a sound editing program?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by David del Toro, Mar 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. David del Toro

David del Toro Forum Resident Thread Starter

Sorry if this has been posted before. If I had a CD that was mastered WAY too loud for my taste, would reducing the gain of all the tracks in a sound program like Audacity reduce the quality of the recording? Conversely, If I have an album mastered way too quietly (Buena Vista Social Club HDTRACKS version) would increasing the gain of the entire album to match my preference be a bad idea? Am I destroying the quality of these recordings by playing god?

2. mindgames

mindgames Forum Resident

Damage which is done, you can't make undone. Though, if you've got a digital file which is digitally clipping, you can restore the peaks. Take for example the 2001 remaster of 'Milk & Honey' by John Lennon & Yoko Ono. Clipping to the point of every peak in the music audibly distorting, but with a declipper tool like iZotope RX it's no problem to make it listenable again.

Too quiet masters are great, because you then still have all freedom yourself. If it are just separate pop/rock tracks (not classical or another genre with songs sequencing into each other), I would normalise every song separately, and then apply a light limiter. I do this all the time for my iTunes library.

nosliw, eric777 and David del Toro like this.
  3. negative1

negative1 80s retro fan

I've done a lot of remastering using Sound forge and plugins, with good results.

It all depends on how much you want to play around with the tracks, and if the results are to your liking.

Good luck.

later

eric777 and David del Toro like this.
  4. Carl Swanson

Carl Swanson Senior Member

To a limited extent.

5. David del Toro