CD-r Label Maker Questions

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Kayaker, Apr 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kayaker

Kayaker Senior Member Thread Starter

I received a label maker kit (LabelCreator Pro) as a gift a few months ago and have been using it to make informative (not creative, not artistic) labels for my CD-r's and spine labels for the cases.
    I have two concerns (somewhat related):
    1) I recently read that these labels may cause the CD-r to go out of balance - throwing off the laser tracking. Can anyone confirm this?
    2) I also noticed on one of my labeled CD-r's, that the label has come somewhat "unglued" - bubbles under the label. Does anyone know the long term "adhesive" potential of these labels?

Thanks.
    Kayaker

2. Andrew

Andrew Chairman of the Bored

I've been doing CD-Rs since early 2002, and have had no problems with labels bubbling over time or going out of balance. My brand is Fellowes, btw.

3. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

I use Fellowes Neato labels without any problems whatsoever.

Even with the "precision" label applicators, you can get a label that is slightly not centered 100% perfectly. But, I have never heard any problems from this whatsoever in either ripping or playing.

I have been Fellowes Neato labels almost exclusively since 1998.

Label to your heart's content.

4. Guy from Ohio

Guy from Ohio Senior Member

I think your concerns are valid. If you are making CD-Rs for the car the last thing you want is a label jamming things. If you are making back-up CD-Rs to archive records, tapes, you don't want to put anything on it that will be harmful in the long term.
    Either way I'd say skip the labels, write the minimum info needed with a felt pen along the outer edge, where there's no digital for it to bleed into, and put all the track listings on the jewel box (or as text on the CD)

5. Sckott

Sckott Hand Tighten Only.