Class A headphone amp under $1000

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by smith6552, May 28, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smith6552

smith6552 trust the process, not the internet Thread Starter

I'm looking for a good option for a headphone amp under $1000. Set on Class A. Preferably want to hear from people who have actually heard them. Prefer solid state but tubes not out of consideration.

2. ls35a

ls35a Forum Resident

bluemooze and rodentdog like this.
  3. smith6552

Thanks. I've heard good things about it.

4. Glmoneydawg

Glmoneydawg Forum Resident

I've been using a Rudistor nxo3 for a few years now...not even remotely tempted to change.....driving LCD 2 fazors.

bluemooze likes this.
  5. timind

timind phorum rezident

After a few attempts to replace a Nuforce HDP with a better sound, including two tube amps, I'm no longer looking. Off that merry-go-round. No longer in production, but easy to find on ebay.

Dac with class A amp: 6moons audio reviews: Nuforce HDP

bluemooze likes this.
  6. Limelakephoto

Limelakephoto Forum Resident

Original schiit asgaard or schiit valhalla or valhalla 2. Asgaard is very well respected. I have a valhalla 2 and quite like it. I have heard all of them and they are great. All are warm sounding..not gooey tubey sounding. If I were staring from scratch I would pick an asgaard.

rockclassics and bluemooze like this.
  7. Ham Sandwich

Ham Sandwich Senior Member

What headphones do you want to use with the amp?
    A class-A amp to drive Audeze planars is going to be a different class of class-A than an amp to drive 300 ohm or 150 ohm Senns and different than an amp that's asked to drive a low impedance dynamic.

8. AmadeusMozart

AmadeusMozart Forum Resident

Perhaps a good place to ask is on www.head-fi.org?

9. Oatp1b1

Oatp1b1 Forum Resident

Burson Audio makes really good stuff. Their Soloist starts at $499 I think.

slovell likes this.
  10. cjc

cjc Senior Member