Click repair question

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by earlburtnett, Sep 19, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. earlburtnett

earlburtnett Forum Resident Thread Starter

hi
    I use click repair to clean up 78s and it does a pretty good job but theres room for improvement..i usually run it once and it is ok..if I run it again will it further clean up the file if I did run it again..?im a total novice at this stuff that's why I'm using this software..any suggestion would be appreciated..im on a dell computer with windows 10 64 bits..thanks

lenny

2. GT40sc

GT40sc Senior Member

Yes, you can process a file more than once...
    check the "reverse" box for the first pass, and take it off for the second pass...

Keep the DeClick settings as low as possible to get what you need...
    The song will sound too "dead" when over-processed.

I don't care for the sound of the DeCrackle, so I don't use it...

seed_drill and Rad Dudeski like this.
  3. earlburtnett

hi steve
    I tried to do what you suggested but it didn't really clean up the file..when you say keep the setting as low as possiable what do you mean?

4. quicksrt

quicksrt Senior Member

Imo low setting is 13, 14, or 15. Anything lower and too many ticks are left in.

So ideally 14 in reverse and another pass in forward and you should be about perfect. Listen and see if any need removed and ifcsobfobthem by hand in other software.

5. earlburtnett

hi quick
    where in settings is these 13 or 14 or 15 numbers?

6. action pact

action pact Music Omnivore

Look at the DeClick slider at the bottom left... here it's set to 50:

[​IMG]

The FRiNgE and quicksrt like this.
  7. quicksrt

quicksrt Senior Member

Indeed, slide that bastard to 14 or 15 and you are about perfect. Make sure reverse box is checked for first pass, and unchecked for second pass.

8. action pact

That is exactly how I do it. I then manually remove any stray ticks or pops in Audacity.