Complete Peanuts Books: Anyone satisfied with just having a few?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Keith V, Nov 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Keith V

Keith V Forum Resident Thread Starter

I love the Peanuts comic strips. I’ve had most of the Fawcett Crest books growing up (still do) and I also have lots of compilation books.
    I have about 6 of the Fantagraphics Complete books not in sequence.
    I know many of us on the forum are very OCD about being a completist....myself included....but is there anyone here who’s happy with just having a few of the books?

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I have only the first volume. I'd love to have them all but there's just too darn many. Actually I haven't gotten sick of the first one yet because it's so different - Charlie Brown is a little troublemaker in the beginning. It's kind of refreshing.

Keith V likes this.
  3. Keith V

True, he really is

Yeah. It’s just too much. Too much money, too much space, too much to read....

I’m reading the 63-64 one now, as a lifelong fan, I recognize about 60% of the strips so the ones I’ve never read are a nice surprise.

By the way, all the strips are online.

dkmonroe likes this.
  4. thegage

thegage Forum Currency Nerd

I started at the beginning and stopped buying where for me the quality went down: After 1978.

John K.

Keith V likes this.
  5. Culpa

Culpa Forum Resident

I have the first nine, which I bought as they came out, that gives me up through 1968. I'll probably get the tenth volume eventually, but then that's it for me. Not that it wasn't still a good strip, but I think the writing started to decline a bit in the '70s, and I just don't enjoy them nearly as much as the earlier strips. Still, for almost twenty years Schulz was top of his field, and what's that, like 7000 strips or so? Amazing.

(Still have a couple dozen of the old Fawcett paperbacks too!)

Keith V likes this.
  6. Keith V