Converting Red-Book and Hi-Rez files to DSD.Any possible benefits?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by EddieVanHalen, Nov 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EddieVanHalen

EddieVanHalen Forum Resident Thread Starter

I've been seen on this forums and other websites some D/A converters that convert PCM to DSD argumenting that it can extract the most of PCM overcoming the problems involved with direct PCM conversion with multi-bit D/A converters, 'though most, but not all, seem to be Delta-Sigma designs, very similar in concept to DSD.
    Does it mean if I rip some of my CD's or some of my Hi-Rez audio files (ranging from 96/24 to 192/24) and then convert them to DSD with Weiss Saracon (which I've been using for over two years, so I know quite well how to do the convertion, what modulator use depending of the kind of music, if adding dither or not...) and then play those converted files on my Pioner SC LX-76 (European model, it has an equivalent in the US as parte of the Elite Series) Which can play DSD files natively without converting to PCM on an USB flash drive, will I may any kind of sonic improvement? Weiss Saracon is a great sample/standards converter, so I guess if I sound quality is not improved al these PCM2DSD D/A converters is just pure marketing and a rip off.

2. ServingTheMusic

ServingTheMusic Forum Resident

Yes, a big benefit....to DAC manufacturers....it helps them move more boxes.o_O

3. SBurke

SBurke Nostalgia Junkie

Are there really problems with direct PCM conversion? If so, what are they?

4. EddieVanHalen

I think there are, is well known that DSD is more easy to convert back to analog, keep in mind all the filters PCM uses for D2A conversion. But this is all theory, real life testing is what it counts.

5. ElvisCaprice

ElvisCaprice Forum Resident

"Converting Red-Book and Hi-Rez files to DSD.Any possible benefits?"