DAT tapes to Imac computer

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Mjsjazz, Sep 26, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mjsjazz

Mjsjazz New Member Thread Starter

Hi. I am new to this forum. I am a 69 year old professional jazz musician with over 100 DAT tape recordings I would like to move over to my IMAC computer so I can listen to them for possible future releases. I have 2 DAT decks: One is a Tascam DA 20 and the other is a Technics SV DA 10. Is there any way to move these recordings over to my computer? It appears they both have digital coaxial inputs and outputs but as I am not an engineer I do not exactly know what that means? My IMAC is from 2017. I have an ethernet cable connected for high speed internet and a Scarlett 4X4 audio interface which allows me to teach online and perform in real time on online. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

jbmcb, ex_mixer and Bingo Bongo like this.
  2. Apesbrain

Apesbrain Forum Resident

Connect the Scarlett to the iMac via USB. Connect the analog out from either DAT deck to the Scarlett analog inputs (front or back panel). You'll need a pair of "RCA-to-TS" cables:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000068O17/

Play DAT and record using whatever recording software is available on your iMac, e.g. GarageBand.

Bingo Bongo, caracallac and somnar like this.
  3. formbypc

formbypc Forum Resident

Consult local websites or brick and mortar stores for suppliers who routinely sell studio and recording equipment. Browse for, or ask their advice for, a USB interface which will accept a digital input from the digital output from your Tascam/Technics.

Alternatively, FWIW, my method is to use a standalone recorder connected to the DAT machine. I used to use an Alesis Masterlink, now a Tascam DA-3000. Any of the Tascam solid-state recorders will do the same job. Saves having to move the DAT to the computer room, or the computer to the DAT room.