DCC CD vs. LP

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by AliMorid, May 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AliMorid

AliMorid New Member Thread Starter

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here. I'm excited to see such great artists received such delicate attention. It's great! What I'm wondering is: I have cd capabilities in my current setup and plan to add vinyl in the future (P3,P25, or other). I've read the posts about how amazing the Roy Orbison, Elvis, Nat King Cole, & Ray Charles DCC Cd's are and am ready to get as many of them as is possible now. But it sorta strikes me that this music would just benefit to be heard on vinyl. What do people think? Better to get the vinyl and just hold on to them until I get a turntable (OK that sorta sounds dumb) or just buy the cd's and enjoy them now. People who own the same DCC album on CD and Vinyl: Which version do you listen to most often and why? Are the components better? Is the sound better? Is vinyl the only way to listen to the above artists. I am hoping to buy these as the temporary-be-all-end-all versions, as these artists will probably not see any better treatment for a long time. That's why I don't mind holding out for vinyl if that's where it's at. Thanks!

2. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

You are going to get two sets of answers, one that says digital is the one, and the other that says vinyl all the way.
    Steve Hoffman will tell you that all else being equal, the CD and the vinyl should have the same tonality.

I say, if you don't have the turntable now, and don't have the vinyl, why bother? It's DCC! The CD will sound the same as the LP minus the surface noise and potential clicks and pops. If you have the money to burn, go for vinyl.

3. ArneW

ArneW Senior Member

Grant wrote:

And boy, you'll really need lots of it, that's for sure! :(

Arne

4. martinimaster

martinimaster New Member