Decision Time: Marantz PM6005/PM7005 or Rega Brio-R

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by MRJones, Jul 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MRJones

MRJones New Member Thread Starter

Okay, audio experts, it's decision time for me. I'm new to the hi fi audio game and have a light wallet, so last week I started a thread looking for suggestions for the best budget integrated amp (with or without phono stage) and phono pre-amp totaling $800 or less. I received excellent suggestions ranging from brand new gear to "if you could find this vintage amp on eBay it would blow you away" equipment. After looking through all the posts, I narrowed my choices down to either a Marantz PM6005 (I discovered the PM7005 while doing research over the weekend) or a used Rega Brio R. As I began shopping, I found the following prices:
    • Marantz PM6005 - $499 factory refurbished with full warranty, $699 new
    • Marantz PM7005 - $750 factory refurbished with full warranty, $999 new (and out of my price range)
    • Rega Brio R - $799 new (the only reason I can find for this relatively low price is the fact the amp is in silver and not black)
    I will primarily be playing vinyl on a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC Esprit with an Ortofon 2M Red cart. Small Pioneer bookshelf speakers now, but will look to seriously upgrade in the future. Despite my vinyl focus, I have a fair amount of CDs and digitized music, so having digital inputs is a bonus.

My newbie head is about to explode trying to decide the best bang for my buck and something I can keep for awhile with the flexibility to expand and upgrade my system. Thanks in advance for your time and recommendations.

2. Morbius

Morbius Forum Resident

As you can see from my profile I am a bit of a Rega convert. Though I haven't heard the Brio R I bet its going to give you the best sound satisfaction out of your other two choices and its new out of the box (not refurbished) and especially if the price is for real.