Denon DP-47F upgrade questions with system description

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by mschool, Oct 23, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mschool

mschool Member Thread Starter

Hello,

First time poster here and self-taught noob.

I recently retired to the Japanese countryside and decided to get back into audio. I took delivery of a Denon DP-47F with a DIATONE AMG-44 cartridge. The cartridge is a MM, as well as my Onkyo A-9010 44 WATT amplifier preamp. I am enjoying records with Sennheiser HD558 headphones and I am trying to decide if the next step is to purchase speakers or replace the TT cartridge. I know what speakers I want (Yamaha NS-F500) and I’m patiently waiting for a used pair to come onto the market. I tested the speakers with a comparable 44 WATT amplifier and I was very happy with the results. I can’t find specs on the cartridge, but I can get in touch with the seller with questions. He has access to many Denon DP-47F’s with that very cartridge and is selling them on Yahoo auctions in Japan.

I’ve been scanning various boards for discussions on the Denon DP-47F and have read the successful MM cartridge replacements seem to be the Audio Technica AT120eb, NAGAOKA MM (MP) Cartridge MP-110, and the Shure m97xe. They are all $200 or less, which suits my budget and tells me that I will a much better sound if I upgrade to one of these. There’s a big secondary sales market in Japan, and I can probably find something even better at the same price, but again, I’m just kind of blindly selecting simply based on others’ comments.