Did/Do you follow the charts?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by SITKOL'76, Dec 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SITKOL'76

SITKOL'76 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I currently follow the BBHot 100 chart, do you or did you ever follow popularity charts? If yes, when and why did you stop?

2. Hey Vinyl Man

Hey Vinyl Man Another bloody Yank down under...

Yes when I was a teenager, and I stopped because 1) I really didn't like the top 40 of the era (early '90s) anyway, and 2) after I graduated from high school, I no longer lived in an area where I had immediate access to Billboard. (This was 1991 - the Internet was a few years off yet.)

3. zen

zen Senior Member

Perhaps a third option: I used to.

4. robertawillisjr

robertawillisjr Music Lover

5. rockclassics

rockclassics Senior Member

I did back in the late 60s starting when I was about 10. I quit in the early 70s probably when I was about 14. I got into FM radio and albums and pretty much quit buying singles. I haven't paid attention to the charts since that time.

6. paulewalnutz

paulewalnutz Forum Resident

Yes as a kid I would pick up Billboard magazine & listen faithfully to Casey Kasem's countdowns. Now I don't have a clue.

7. Scott S.

Scott S. lead singer for the best indie band on earth

I was hugely into charts. I listened to both Casey and my local radio station in York PA which had a top 25 countdown. I also collected the charts from the record store providec by a Philadelphia radio station. Later in life, I even was coordinator of an important indie chart that achieved some acclaim. I made an arrangement with Cashbox magazine and got our indie charts on there for several years til we ended the relationship for various reasons.

However while the Billboard 200 still interests me some, the Hot 100 wasn't the same after 1975 or so, the songs involved just got weaker and weaker. The current top 40 and for years now in my opinion has been a complete embarrassment.