Dragonfly red/black + Android (Huawei) advice

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Gagnedouze, Nov 19, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gagnedouze

Gagnedouze Forum Resident Thread Starter

I am a novice when it comes to gadgets and tech, however, hopefully someone will be able to help.

I would like to have a a superior music experience and been looking at the Dragonfly DAC's. Paired with some decent headphones (Bose QC's for e.g) would this be better than my current setup (stock Huawei earphones) or would I not see any further improvement?

I listen to FLAC and 320.

Thanks

2. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

What kind of DAC is inside your phone? Some smartphones nowadays are shipping with DACs that have much better performance that what you get out of those USB dongle DACs.

The stock headphones/earbuds that usually come with smartphones aren't very good.

3. Gagnedouze

That's the thing, my contract expires and it's much, much cheaper to go SIM-only so am going to keep my current smartphone. I appreciate the new LG's have the ESS Sabre DAC but mine doesn't. That's why I was looking down the USB DAC route.

4. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

I've got an LGV40 and had a V20 before that. If you can grab an unlocked, refurb/used V series at a good price, I'd highly recommend it. I don't like carrying around extra stuff and a bunch of cords and wires with a USB dongle isn't something I'm going to bother with, especially if the performance isn't that great, which is what measurements tell us.

If you are sitting at a desk while listening, might as well buy a good desktop USB DAC, many of them out there at different price ranges.

The other thing: upgrading your DAC isn't going to be that noticeable with cheap earbuds. You mentioned Bose - stuff like that isn't made for great sound quality, it's meant for convenience with features like their noise canceling stuff.