Early Deep Purple appreciation

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by lc1995, Apr 8, 2019.

1. lc1995

lc1995 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I actually kinda resent the rest of DP for firing Rod and Nick. I understand they wanted to go in a heavier direction, but I think they were capable.

And I feel that Rod's talent was totally wasted because of the "Bogus Deep Purple" incident in 1980. Sure it might have been cringeworthy, but he didn't deserve to have his career ruined because of it.

I heard "Hush" on Q 104.3 the other day and it made me happy because they play zero DP songs not named "Smoke on the Water".

gitters, limoges, Waspinators and 7 others like this.
  2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

The Rod Evans incident frustrates me to this day because he was so STUPID to do it. Anyone with half a brain should have known that that was going to blow up in his face. It was fraud, and he let himself be drawn into it.

Could the original DP have gone heavy? Yeah, probably - both Rod and Nick carried on in good hard rock bands - but I'm not sorry that DP teamed up with Gillan and Glover. I think history has vindicated their decision.

texron, gd0, peskypesky and 20 others like this.
  3. Madrid

Madrid Forum Resident

Huge Deep Purple fan but only really like some stuff from the first lineup/first three albums (mainly the self titled third, especially Chasing Shadows and Blind).

I have no doubt that if they hadn't replaced Evans and Simper with Gillan and Glover Deep Purple would be just a footnote in rock history, albeit an enjoyable one.

4. Scott in DC

Scott in DC Forum Resident

I like the early MKI albums. While a couple of the songs got played on the radio they didn't get overplayed and today I can listen to those albums without feeling I've it all a million times.

Scott

5. Rne

Rne weltschmerz