Fake 24bit files?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Big Thier, May 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Big Thier

Big Thier Forum Resident Thread Starter

Ok so I downloaded these "24 bit" files and compared them to my CD rips. Here it is:

[​IMG]

I'm far from a pro but why does it seem there's more data on the 16 bit CD rip than the supposedly 24 bit file? You can see on the graph that the waves go all the way up on the CD rip and not as much on the 24 bit one. Thoughts?

2. missan

missan Forum Resident

I would presume there are a lot fake 24bit files.

3. testikoff

testikoff Seasoned n00b

Hmm, I don't think you will be able to judge the PCM sample's word length (i.e. 16 or 24 bit) simply viewing a track's spectrogram (you can have a pretty good idea of a sampling rate of the original session recordings and/or a final mix, but not the word length, IMO). It looks like your first waveform was likely stemmed from material sampled at (or resampled to) 44kHz.

4. Archimago

Archimago Forum Resident

No, you would not be able to determine bit-depth simply with that spectrogram.

All the graph suggests is as testikoff noted, the 24-bit version looks like some kind of filter was applied to attenuate frequencies >20kHz compared to the 16-bit version. Each sample could still be of higher resolution.

(Reminder folks - my 24-bit vs. 16-bit audio test still open for survey submissions! See the blog...)

Stone Turntable likes this.
  5. gregorya

gregorya I approve of this message

just out of curiosity, can you hear any differences between the two files?

6. Schoolmaster Bones

Schoolmaster Bones Poe's Lawyer

The good news is that none of this really makes any difference.

Vidiot, kevintomb and missan like this.
  7. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

My thoughts are that you should learn how to read these graphs and learn a bit about digital audio. This tells you absolutely nothing about bit-depth.