Fisher Tubes - HOT HOT HOT

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by hex lumphries, Apr 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hex lumphries

hex lumphries Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hey all -

Newbie here. Came into a Fisher 500c recently and wow. The sound is kind of crazy. It's a huge upgrade from my Yamaha CR-420. I was a little cynical of all the fusing about vintage tubes, but man, it's real. It's kind of amazing, really.

Anyways, with all the pleasure that tubes have brought me, they've also brought some concerns. Mainly - is this thing a fire hazard??

The tubes almost IMMEDIATELY get scorching hot when I turn the thing on. After 10 minutes, the are too hot to touch. I've poked around on here and found that other people say the same thing, but I just wanted to double check that this is normal.

Another concern that I have is red plating - none of my tubes are turning red, but they're all emitting an orange glow for sure. The tops of the tubes have scorch marks. is THAT normal?

Sorry if these are dumb questions! Just want to make sure I don't burn my house down. Thanks in advance!

H8SLKC likes this.
  2. Pete Norman

Pete Norman Forum Resident

What tubes are they? Replace them and check the cathode bias...see if you can find out what the resistance is supposed to be from a schematic.....hope this helps....

3. skriefal

skriefal Senior Member

The power tubes can get to 350 degrees F or so. The smaller tubes should be less - but may still be uncomfortable to touch.

Over time, the heat can cause visible blackening or other discolorations on the surface of some of the tubes.

4. allied333

allied333 Audiophile

Tubes run hot- no problem. The large power tubes must not have red or orange color glowing plates inside the glass.

5. allied333

allied333 Audiophile

BTW- I am not referring to the tiny small orange dot at top center of tube.

6. H8SLKC

H8SLKC Forum Resident