Grado Red and inner groove distortion - how to troubleshoot?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by 12" 45rpm, Feb 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 12" 45rpm

12" 45rpm Forum Resident Thread Starter

I have been using a Grado Prestige Red for 20 years on my Pro-ject 1.2 ( also 20 years old! ). I've replaced the stylus before. But last year it broke again from dropping it on the turntable.

I tried to save some $$ and put in a Grado Blue stylus. It sounds the same, but I notice inner groove distortion is especially bad. I am not sure if it is because of a setup issue ( everything seems aligned, though I am no expert in alignment ). Or is it because I used Blue instead of Red stylus? Or are Grado Prestige series notorious for inner groove distortion?

2. action pact

action pact Music Omnivore

Check the alignment again.

3. 12" 45rpm

Will do, but which variable in the alignment is most important for fixing inner groove distortion?

4. Mitsuman

Mitsuman Diamond Tone Junkie

Azimuth, SRA, and null points. What protractor are you using?

5. 12" 45rpm

I am using the one that came with my Pro-ject turntable back in 1996! Is there a new and improved tool I should be using instead?

6. action pact

That should yield the right alignment...

Have you checked VTF? (Grados like 1.6-1.7g.)

Are the arm bearings ok?

7. gslasor

gslasor Forum Resident

Try mucking with your antiskate, too. I run my Gold at 1.7g tracking and 1.5g antiskate, but some people have reported that setting it low or turning it off altogether has a very positive impact on the sound of their Grados. YMMV, as always.

8. action pact

Yeah, I find that using more than about a 1/2 gram of AS chokes the soundstage on Grados.

9. 12" 45rpm