Grundig Konzertschrank 9068

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Keim, Jul 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Keim

Keim Hangin' here from the start Thread Starter

A friend just gave me this cool console radio. Looks almost identical to the picture below. I have some experience with tubes, having built some Bottlehead amp kits. I'm in the process of testing the tubes. Also looking at the capacitors in the power supply. Any ideas of what else to look out for?

[​IMG]

2. Jim T

Jim T Forum Resident

Is that an old Garrard Type A turntable? That was some serious hifi back in the day. I actually have one of those LP holder wire racks, but wire is so rusty that it needs to be dipped, stripped, and repainted.

3. Mike in OR

Mike in OR Through Middle-earth...onto Heart of The Sunrise

I should have the schematics for that console if you need it. I have most every set of schematics for almost every West German radio made from '50s through the 'most of the '60s. I'll check and see...I have them all converted digitally.

4. Keim

No. It is a fully automatic Rex. Needs a new needle and belts. Know any good sources?

It came with the schematic. In German. Is yours in English?

5. Keim

The picture differs from mine in this regard. Mine has a mini bar. Cup holders on the left wall, and mirrors on the other surfaces in the compartment. The compartments are all lit up, too. Looks cool in the dark.

6. Mike in OR

No, it will be in German if I have that set. But that's great it came with it, the German can prove to be a bit of a challenge.

Last edited: Jul 22, 2014
    triple likes this.
  7. Keim

Was worth asking... Fortunately I don't think I'll need it. And, if I do, schematics are international. Just not the words...

8. Keim

I am curious-why do you have all the schematics?

9. Mike in OR

At one time I had a large West German radio collection. I have since sold most of them off. I still have a storehouse of tube selection for them though.