Guidance on first TT purchase: AT-LP 120 USB and its friends

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by stay crunchy, Apr 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stay crunchy

stay crunchy Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hello all, I am new to the forum and this will be my first post. This seems like a great community with a lot of passionate people eager to share their knowledge and opinions. Anyway, like many others here, I’m new to vinyl and have a deep appreciation for music and sound quality. I want to purchase a turntable that sounds great, but is relatively easy to operate and maintain. Right now, I’m looking at the Audio Technica LP120 USB with an upgraded Nagaoka MP-110 cartridge and mat from LP Gear for around $370. I’ve also looked at the usual entry-level tables from Pro-Ject, Rega, and Music Hall. I would like to stay around $400-450 and have something that is easy to operate (can’t stress that part enough). Can anyone point me in the right direction for my first table? I’ve seen a few other threads about this, so I hope I’m not rehashing old news. I guess my bottom line would be: is the AT-LP120 with the upgrades from LP Gear a better option (in regards to build quality, sound quality, ease of use, price, etc.) than the others mentioned?

My current system includes a Rotel RSX 1055 receiver, a Panasonic DMP BDP 500 BluRay/CD player, a pair of Focal Chorus 714V speakers, and a HSU STF-2 sub. I love it. It sounds crisp, clear, and punchy. To my untrained ears it does not sound overly warm, nor sterile; it seems balanced and neutral. I listen to Metal and occasional Classical music. Would the AT-LP120 I mentioned be a good match for my setup and musical tastes?

Also, I have no experience with LP Gear and would like to know if it is reputable. Since they don’t post customer reviews about their products, it’s kind of hard to tell. The few reviews I’ve seen about them online seemed to be mixed.

Thanks!

DarkSideOfTheMoo likes this.