HDCD decoding question

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by honestdenverman, Feb 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. honestdenverman

honestdenverman Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hello, I'm fairly new to both the forum and better quality stereo components and want to be sure I get the most out of my collection of discs that have HDCD available. I recently purchased an Onkyo TX NR626 receiver and an Oppo BDP -103 Blu Ray Player. My question is: does the TX NR626 have HDCD decoding capabilities such as the Oppo?

Thanks for your time and assistance

Last edited: Feb 14, 2015
  2. DragonQ

DragonQ Forum Resident

I don't understand the question. If you're playing an HDCD on the Oppo then it'll decode it as appropriate and the TX-NR626 will just get PCM to deal with as normal.

3. Warren Jarrett

Warren Jarrett Audio Note (UK) dealer in SoCal/LA-OC In Memoriam

My answer is that there is a difference between playing an HDCD with proprietary decoding versus with normal playback. Only players that have a HDCD logo on the faceplate can perform the proprietary decoding, and that will provide better sound... but the benefit is small.

Just check the faceplate for that logo to answer your question.

KT88 and honestdenverman like this.
  4. The Beave

The Beave My Wife Is My Life! And don’t I forget it!

The oppo decodes HDCD. So use the analog outputs from IT to the Onkyo and your all set.
    the one and only beave

honestdenverman likes this.
  5. honestdenverman

Thank you, for the replies/answers.