HDTracks News (part 7)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Ken_McAlinden, Aug 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ken_McAlinden

Ken_McAlinden MichiGort Staff Thread Starter

2. xj32

xj32 Forum Resident

So I am thinking about the complete CCR set. I know that these have been released in Hi Rez before. My question is are these new PCM versions on HD Tracks, the same as the DSD-SACD versions done by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman that can be purchased individually at Acoustic Sounds?

Thanks.

3. sunspot42

sunspot42 Forum Resident

Trouble In Paradise is actually less-compressed than its predecessor, which was squashed-to-death.

4. Coricama

Coricama Classic Rocker

I purchased Rush's The Spirit of Radio 96/24 last night. Sounds fantastic. I'm very new to computer audio and amazed how good it can sound. It's really dangerous having high quality music available for instant purchase though!

5. noname74

noname74 Allegedly Canadian

No..all but Mardi Gras were all newly remastered by Paul Blakemore. He is pretty well respected from what I can see.

Mardi Gras has a copy of the Wikipedia info for the album: (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mardi_Gras_(album)).
    So I'm not sure if they just sent the wrong info and Blakeman remastered it or if it's truly an older remaster.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2014
  6. xj32

xj32 Forum Resident

Thanks, has anyone compared the new HD releases to the older Hoffman ones?

7. neil

neil Senior Member

I picked up the QMS and the Canned Heats. The first Quicksilver sounds great, but not so sure the Happy Trails is any better than the Japanese remasters from a couple of years ago. Both Canned Heat albums are great, but I only wish that they had joined the epic Refried Boogie parts 1 and 2 on Living The Blues.

Neil

8. JamieLang

JamieLang Forum Resident