Help-a-rookie. Speaker recommendations for a mish-mash of vintage and contemporary

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Pudding Effect, Aug 27, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pudding Effect

Pudding Effect Forum Resident Thread Starter

Ok, not a tech nerd by any stretch but this morning I won a bid on a Marantz 2225. Can't wait for it to arrive but am looking for a suitable speaker not only for the receiver but also my Cambridge Audio azur 752bd universal disc player and a Rega RP3 with an ortofon blue cartirdge.

Basically I'm trying to seek out a good all-rounder pair that won't break the bank and will compliment all these differing components. A lengthy search and I'm simply overwhelmed by the selection out there and I'm still studying so I don't really have the disposable cash to experiment.

Any help would be much appreciated.

2. krisjay

krisjay Psychedelic Wave Rider

If the Marantz hasn't been gone through, you might want to have that done, those vintage Marantz units usually need some work. They might work, but could be far out of spec.

3. Ntotrar

Ntotrar Forum Resident

Size of your music space including ceiling hight, listening position (from prospective of speaker placement in feet), how far apart can you place your speakers (in feet) and floor standing or stand mount (book shelf)?

That receiver has in factory correct condition 25 Watts per channel. So efficiency is the order of the day. 90+ Db. I would look for a nice set of vintage Klipsch KG4 or similar (assuming you have the space for them). Lots of great choices out there but look for something efficient.

Last edited: Aug 27, 2015
  4. head_unit

head_unit Senior Member