Help! I need somebody... (Vinyl newbie here)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by SJR, Sep 4, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SJR

SJR Big Boss Man Thread Starter

Hi guys, I'm new to the forum and I'm looking for some advice re: a beginner's turntable / hi-fi setup etc.
    I love my music (CD/digital) and I'm about to take the plunge and start my vinyl journey but I'm not too sure where to start? It's bamboozling!

What do you guys think of this setup which is included in a 'package' deal at my local vinyl shop:

Rega Planar 1 Turntable
    Cambridge Audio Topaz AM100 Integrated Amplifier
    Cambridge Audio SX-50 Bookshelf Speakers

Is this a decent starter system to get me on my way or would you advise better alternatives?

Also, I enjoy listening to my music through headphones so at some point down the line would I need to be looking at a headphone amp / decent set of headphones? Any suggestions there? At the moment I tend to listen to music on the go or when I travel and own a pair of Bose QC15's.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    SJR

2. PhxJohn

PhxJohn Forum Resident

I am going to leave the amp and speakers to someone else for the moment. But, since the lengths of my 'moments' vary, what is the price of this system ?
    I would skip the Rega Planar 1 and go for the Planar 2. For an extra $200 you get the much better RB220 tonearm and a heavy glass platter. These two items purchased separately would cost you $535. I know. I did it with my RP1 which was the predecessor to the Planar 1. And it makes a huge difference in sound and the ability to use much better cartridges in the future.

3. PhxJohn

PhxJohn Forum Resident