Help With Excessive Static on Turntable

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by GentleSenator, Jan 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GentleSenator

GentleSenator what if Thread Starter

Hi All-

I'm running a brand new Denon DP-300F turntable with a Denon DL-110 cartridge, and stock mat, platter, etc. With most LPs now I'm getting a ton of static/cling when a side is finished and I try to take the vinyl off the turntable.

The impact of the static on the playback appears minimal, but there is definitely more pops/clicks than should be.

Can anyone provide any ideas as to what might cause this, and some simple solutions?

Thanks!

2. tinchman

tinchman New Member

I am pretty new to vinyl but I will try and help. Do you have a felt mat? I had a lot of static/cling until I bought a rubber one and my new tt has a rubber one also. If you have carpet in the room, try using a spray can of Static Guard. It should be in the laundry detergent area of the store. These helped me out. Good luck. By the way, I just sprayed some on the floor around the tt stand or whatever you have.

3. MikeyH

MikeyH Stamper King

Unfortunately, static charge is built up by friction:

1) between stylus and record
    2) between air and record surface.

Do you clean your disc on the platter before you play? that adds to the friction.

Changing or cleaning (wash in detergent and dry) the mat can help (it increases it's conductivity). Waiting for there to be more humidity will make a big difference too. Cold and dry is not good for this sort of thing.

Wet cleaning the discs often helps too, but that opens another ball game of fun, opinion and expense.

4. Art K

Art K Retired but not tired!

It's kind of seasonal here. I live down the Valley here in Oregon and this time of year it just is...

5. Joefarrell

Joefarrell Forum Resident