Henry Kloss/KLH Model Twenty Three recap

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by tapehiss, Aug 31, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tapehiss

tapehiss New Member Thread Starter

Hi,

New here on the forum and new overall to audio equipment. I'm slowly building my setup and recently got a pair of KLH Model Twenty Threes. I would like to learn how to recap/re-dope them though I'm not too confident about taking this apart and doing any soldering as I have zero experience in doing either.

Anyone suggest a good step by step process? If not, are there any SH'ers out there in the Massachusetts area who would be on for taking a session of teaching/showing me in person (will be willing to pay for a lesson or job)? I don't trust any of the repair guys with a store front around here (have had horrible experiences with all of them!).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. Burt

Burt Forum Resident

You need to learn to solder on something with no value, such as on junked boards and equipment.

It requires an investment of time and money, but it is a skill that will pay off over and over and not just for audio equipment.

sushimaster and jupiterboy like this.
  3. Joel Cairo

Joel Cairo Video Gort / Paiute Warrior Staff

4. action pact

action pact Music Omnivore

I re-did a pair of KLH Sixes using that same AK thread for guidance. The job went off without a hitch!

5. Dr. J.

Dr. J. Music is in my soul