Hi Fi News Test LP-- How 'Idiot Proof'?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Alan G, Jan 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alan G

Alan G More A Lurker Than A Poster Thread Starter

I am fairly new to the vinyl game and I am trying to make sure my cartridge is set up correctly. I have a few tools [Shure Pressure Gauge, ETM Protractor] but I have been thinking about buying this test disc to properly set up the tracking force and bias. Since I am not too handy with this stuff how tough is the Hi Fi News LP to use? Is the distortion on the antiskating test tones easy to hear or is this something I will pay $50 for only to have it drive me crazy??

I have a Luxman PD 284 turntable with an AT440MLa cartridge.

Thanks for any input or suggestions.

Alan

Gumboo likes this.
  2. TONEPUB

TONEPUB Senior Member

Haven't tried it yet....

Thinking about doing a test on a bunch of them and possibly grade them in beginner, intermediate and advanced, to answer this very question.

3. intlplby

intlplby New Member

the disc is good for bias.... beyond that, most of the other stuff is pretty standard stuff like phase tests and whatnot that, unless you really borked something should be set right.

4. John Moschella

John Moschella Senior Member

Agreed, get it if you want to use the bias (anti-skate) adjustment.

5. Doc Sarvis

Doc Sarvis Forum Resident

It's very easy to use for the anti-skate adjustment and I highly recommend it. Using the LP I have virtually eliminated inner groove distortion issues from a variety of turntable/tonearm/cartridge combos. It's money well spent.

Tips:

1. The best tracks to use are the three 300hz tones on side two, tracks 1, 4, and 8. If you hear buzzing in the right channel on any of these, increase anti-skate force. If it's in the left channel, decrease the force. Once all three dial in at the same time you are good to go!