how come graphic equalizers went out of fashion?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by 93curr, Mar 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 93curr

93curr Senior Member Thread Starter

they used to be everywhere back in the 70's.

wouldn't the idea of "customizing" the sound to match you own personal hearing be exactly the kind of thing iPods could use as a marketing gimmick?

you'd think there'd at least be some kind of equalizer function on computers.

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

There is, in Windows Media Player. Plus, some settings called "WOW Effects" which, as far as I can tell, helps your computer make non-overcompressed and maximized CD's sound overcompressed and maximised. I may be wrong about WOW effects - I'm no expert - but that seems to be what it does to my ears.

I used to play around with the Windows Media Player EQ, but I stopped after I noticed that it actually created clipping in the playback of some songs. I actually thought that the Redbook layer of my Blonde On Blonde hybrid had clipping on "Leopard Skin Pill Box Hat" until I listened to it in my car stereo. I now set my Media Player EQ to flat settings.

3. quicksilverbudie

quicksilverbudie quicksilverbudie

#1 would be "distortion" added to the signal.... I was a believer at one time but the wife said it added distortion which I believed it did, ok for a mid or low end Hi-Fi system but as you get better gear you really don't need one. My Audible Illusions M3A doesn't even have tone controls.

sean

4. RZangpo2

RZangpo2 Forum Know-It-All

iTunes also has a built in equalizer. As for stand-alone EQ, I hear that recent units have such low distortion that people can't tell "blind" whether they're in or out of the system. So EQ is on my audio wish list. I'm tired of putting up with engineers' annoying EQ choices (present company excepted, of course ;)). With my own EQ I'll take back control!