How is the quality of the A&M audiophile series LPs?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by John Moschella, Oct 31, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John Moschella

John Moschella Senior Member Thread Starter

I have no experience with any of these pressings and I was wondering what the quality is like. Specifically the Supertramp albums Crisis, What Crisis, and Even in the Quietest Moments.
    Feedback appreciated.

John

2. Holy Zoo

Holy Zoo Gort (Retired) :-)

Most people seem to hate them.

I have just one: Supertramp's "Crime of the Century", and I like it *a lot*. I like it better than the MoFi cd, even better than Tom Port's fabled Speakers Corner LP version.

McLover likes this.
  3. aashton

aashton Here for the waters...

I bought a couple of the Supertramp albums and they are non too bad - it's just that the domestic copies I picked up are a little bit special and were much cheaper and easier to get hold of for me :)

All the best - Andrew

4. RDK

RDK Active Member

I found a mint Audiophile copy of "Quietest Moments" in the .99 bin at the thrift store.

I like it a lot! :D

Ray

5. padreken

padreken Senior Member

I've got Crime, Quietest Moments and Breakfast in America, and I like all of them. Nice, quiet vinyl-and the high end is far smoother than on any CD issue of these albums (especially Breakfast).

6. Beagle

Beagle Senior Member

I have the Audiophile Series of Crime Of The Century and Breakfast In America. They are clean sounding, for sure, but I prefer the UK, Canadian and US STERLING originals of Crime. More open and airy. I don't have another version of Breakfast to compare. Also have Styx Equinox and Nazareth's Greatest Hits. Again, the original Canadian Equinox sounds better to me.

7. Mistermono

Mistermono Forum Resident

8. christopher

christopher Forum Neurotic

I have never heard these.